"When you get to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on." ~FDR



September 23, 2013 - 7:06 p.m.

Does true love exist? Seriously?

A friend of mine is leaving her husband after being married for 45 years. Of course she hasn't personally told me this, I heard it through the grapevine. She is waiting for her husband to go away on a business trip and then she is moving out.

She probably hasn't told me because she is doing basically the same thing Sean did to me. Break things off over the phone instead of face to face. Both are cowards! I have no respect for that. Man up and tell it like it is.

We were swapping break up stories the other day. Devon has a unique insight into how men think. He manages to put a non-bias spin on everything. Basically the conclusion from everyone was that Sean is an asshole! I never in a million years would have said that about him, but now I would agree whole heartedly. They all thought he should have at least acknowledged my request to discuss things, because he did say he would. A couple people said that I should have email him and ask him the one question that I want an answer to. It sounds simple enough, but I know he wouldn't give me an honest answer. I think he is a complete and total liar that didn't know the true meaning of love. How do you text someone one day and tell them that you love them always and forever, and the following week tell them that you don't see a future with them at all. I'm puzzled. Still don't know what the turning point was in that 7 day period.

And now, for some reason I feel so compelled to warn his new girlfriend about his ways. To tell her he doesn't know the true meaning of love, to him, they are just words. I was completely happy with him, thought I was going to spend the rest of my life with him, only to have him blindsided me out of the blue in the most cruel way you can break up with someone.

Is there any hope of finding true love out there? Does it exist, or just for certain people?

Back - Forward